Out of hospital

After a typically appalling stay at the hospital I am at home. Medication and eating was tough whilst on the ward. I collapsed on the Friday night with teams of docs and nurses running to my aid. Real problems with my eating and drinking. Hopefully all sorted out now with my tube. Been fed through it today and whist it feels very strange it takes the pressure off trying to get so many calories and liquid through my mouth. It takes about 30 mins to get all the medicines, water and feed through. For the first time I am not wolfing down my food.

All a little bit sorry for the situation in which I find myself. My mouth feels waxy and furry and does not seem, even with the wash, to become fresh. Night time is giving me about three hours sleep before dryness makes me need to get up for washes in the mouth. At least it also numbs the pain of the ulcers and burned mouth. At least I am now half way through. Every treatment that I now have is one less than I have already done. We are on the last lap….need to kick on.

Might need help with lifts next week guys so please volunteer to Ali! Cheers to all.

4 thoughts on “Out of hospital

  1. Oh Mark,

    sorry to hear you had such a rough time in hospital but delighted to know you’re back home.

    So now you’re eating without eating – that must indeed be another weird experience. You’re making a habit of these during this treatment, aren’t you. It’s just a shame that none of them are of your choosing. We met up with some friends last night and shared curries between us. I know you must miss them, but as I encountered the warmest one (it wasn’t anywhere near your liking for a vindaloo) I inwardly toasted you and hoped you’d be back on the hot stuff sooner rather than later. I’m sure the thought of having one at present with all those painful mouth ulcers is the furthest thing from your mind, but it will come. And you will enjoy it… which to me is another weird experience!

    With it being exeat this weekend, managed to get out in the garden this morning and rake up the leaves from the lawn. It’s a good job we hardly have any neighbours as I had to borrow all their brown recycling bins as I managed to fill up 4 of them. Then it was a case of helping Brucie out with the orders of services for Carols, before cracking on with climbing the mountain of reports. Late afternoon we foolishly decided to go to Van Hages as we had some 2 for 1 vouchers on cream teas and soups… but enroute discovered they were only valid Mon-Fri. Still we went and queued for ages – the ice rink is back and the place was heaving with folks wanting to be all festive. However, there were so many people there it had more the feel of a cattle market that a festive fairy tale. Mind you, you’d have liked the shoes they had. Not cheap, but some well know brands.

    Faye was keen to show me the tweed waistcoat and jacket they had as I’ve been looking for a decent tweed suit. I’ve asked family to put cash aside at Christmas and birthday so that I can splash out at a later date and get something that I haven’t got from a charity shop/ebay. The stuff at VH by Joules was nicely styled but the waistcoat and jacket weren’t worth the £300 they were asking. I shall keep on searching.

    Tomorrow night I shall go and listen to Andrew White who’s speaking in the Mem Hall. He’s the vicar of Baghdad and I know he has quite a tale to tell. His article in the Times this week was heart breaking as he recalled the many Christians who have been killed or forced to flee the area because of ISIL.(ISIS?) The Arch Bish of Canterbury has barred him from returning cos it’s so dangerous and yet the guy is keen not to abandon his flock. All this and he suffers from MS and various other aliments. Like you, he seems like a fighter and I’m sure he will have quite a message to pass on. I’m expecting to be challenged. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Take care big fella
    mogs

    mogs

    Like

  2. Hi Mark

     

    Sorry to hear about your overnight visit in hospital, being unwell is one thing but not being around your family and other home comforts makes it all seem much worse, I’m sure.

    Sunday morning, quite early and like many other staff, I am sure you can guess why I’m sitting at the computer – uploading those lovely reports!

    Thought you might like a little House update, as the events are starting to increase as we get closer to the end of term. I spent a very chilly Thursday evening watching the Junior Football. I was impressed with Charlie’s performance which seemed to centre around a strong defensive position whilst being drawn on to the left wing occasionally. MJH put out a good team, securing second place overall.

    I think your chess team are missing your experience and enthusiasm so we won’t dwell too long on that one. However, the day of celebration has to be last Friday with the House Hockey. I’m not sure anyone else got a look in really with such a strong MJH team, both Seniors and Juniors. 1st in both competitions – you should be very proud of your girls and with those 20 points being added, MJH are closing the gap rapidly on ‘another’ House! So, it’s going to be quite close as the final few events approach – will keep you posted!

    Car and driver available if needed, please tell Alison just to ask.

    Take care

    Adrian

    Like

  3. Mark,

    Also glad to hear you are home and hope the “eating without eating” is giving you more energy . Just think if only you were a woman too how many more opportunities for multi tasking that can offer, as presumably hands and mouth are free to do other jobs. Wonder if that applies to men too?

    Thought I should tell you how poorly the quiz team fared without you . Calling their team “and where are the sports questions team” ( there were none, as sadly not featuring sport in the festival this year ) they came second to bottom ! There was a general bit of muttering about how hard the questions were, which I couldn’t concur with, but then maybe that was because I had seen all the answers and that does tend to make it a bit easier. Still hopefully everyone still had a good time, and we did raise awareness about both the festival and St Clare hospice too. The winners were the outsiders- Tees lawyers had sent a team, and they were young and clever, but then as I am married to a lawyer I suppose that shouldn’t surprise me . However the team that Jon was in , which also had an illegal extra 2 people , only managed to beat Sandy and Rachael’s team by 1 point !

    In the middle of preparing a Sunday roast and really hope that it won’t be too long before you can be enjoying your roast dinner in the same way.

    We are all thinking of you Mark, and if wishes could make you well you would be better soo soon .
    Rosie xxx

    Like

  4. Hi Mark

    Sorry to hear about your overnight visit in hospital, being unwell is one thing but not being around your family and other home comforts makes it all seem much worse, I’m sure.
    Sunday morning, quite early and like many other staff, I am sure you can guess why I’m sitting at the computer – uploading those lovely reports!
    Thought you might like a little House update, as the events are starting to increase as we get closer to the end of term. I spent a very chilly Thursday evening watching the Junior Football. I was impressed with Charlie’s performance which seemed to centre around a strong defensive position whilst being drawn on to the left wing occasionally. MJH put out a good team, securing second place overall.
    I think your chess team are missing your experience and enthusiasm so we won’t dwell too long on that one. However, the day of celebration has to be last Friday with the House Hockey. I’m not sure anyone else got a look in really with such a strong MJH team, both Seniors and Juniors. 1st in both competitions – you should be very proud of your girls and with those 20 points being added, MJH are closing the gap rapidly on ‘another’ House! So, it’s going to be quite close as the final few events approach – will keep you posted!
    Car and driver available if needed, please tell Alison just to ask.
    Take care
    Adrian

    Like

Leave a Reply

